State Democrats Endorse Bush

Saying they are about people and not parties, a group of former and current elected officials declared their support for President George W. Bush Monday at a Capitol news conference.

Retired Cong. Sonny Montgomery of Meridian joined former Jackson mayor, Dale Danks, and others in making the public announcement.

"We all saw (Georgia senator) Zell Miller take a stand for President Bush last month at the Republican Convention. Despite his political affiliation, he realizes the stakes are high and that President Bush is the man for the job," said Montgomery.

Democrats for Bush members, as provided by the Mississippi Republican Party:

Tommy Blackburn: Mayor, City of Quitman, Clarke County
Wayne Brown: Southern District Trans. Commissioner, George Co.
Greg Butler: Mayor, City of Morton, Scott County
Charlie Capps: State Representative, House District 28, Bolivar County
Frank Carlton: former District Attorney, Greenville, Washington County
James Lynn Cartlidge: Supervisor, Forrest County
Jimmy Cockroft: Mayor, City of Kosciusko, Attala County
Tom Cooper: Chancery Clerk, Union County
Jamie Creel: former State Representative, House Dist. 115, Harrison Co.
Dale Danks: former Mayor, City of Jackson (1977 - 1989), Hinds County
Gary Dearman: President of the Board and Supervisor, Greene County
Duane Dillon: Sheriff, Walthall County
Brad Dye: Former Lieutenant Governor, Madison County
Sam Fisher: President of the Board and Supervisor, Yazoo County
Tim Ford: Former Speaker of the House, Hinds County
A.D. Gilbert: Mayor, City of Stonewall, Clarke County
Brian Gollott: President, C.F. Gollott & Sons Seafood, Inc., Harrison Co.
Tommy Gollott: State Senator, Senate District 50, Harrison County
Billy Mac Gore: Sheriff, Calhoun County
Mike Harrison: Mayor, City of Ripley, Tippah County
Danny Jordan: Supervisor, Union County
Jeri Landry: Circuit Clerk, Jefferson Davis County
Judi May: City Clerk, Mendenhall, Simpson County
Bill Minor: Northern District Transportation Commissioner, Marshall Co.
Sonny Montgomery: former U.S. Congressman, Third Dist. (1966-1996), Lauderdale County
Bobby Moody: former State Representative, House District 43, Deputy
Director of Medicaid for Administrative Services, Winston County
Johnny Morgan: President of the Board and Supervisor, Lafayette Co.
Bill Mosby: Alderman, City of Canton, Madison County
Stanley "Sugar" Mullins: Chancery Clerk, Carroll County
Billy Nicholson: State Representative, House District 78, Newton County
Lenore Prather: Former Chief Justice, Mississippi Supreme Court, Lowndes County
Brandon Presley: Mayor, City of Nettleton, Lee County
Rusty Quave: Mayor, City of D'Iberville, Harrison County
Jim Roberts: Former Supreme Court Justice, Former Comm. of Public Safety, Pontotoc County William Keith Rutledge: Mayor, City of Pontotoc, Pontotoc County
Jeff Smith: State Representative, House District 39, Lowndes County
Mary Ann Stevens: State Representative, House District 48, Holmes Co.
Gerry Taylor: Chancery Clerk, Attala County
Joel Thames: Sheriff, Lawrence County
Tom Todd: Mayor, City of Ecru, Pontotoc County
George Turberville, Jr.: Mayor, City of Vaiden, Carroll County
Milton Tutwiler: Mayor, City of Winstonville, Bolivar County
Brandon Vance: Sheriff, Tippah County
Greg Waggoner: Sheriff, Leake County
Paul Walker: Mayor, City of Fulton, Itawamba County
Ron Walker: Mayor, City of Taylorsville, Smith County
Sylvia Ward: Alderwoman, City of Prentiss, Jefferson Davis County
W.K. Webb: Mayor, City of Saltillo, Lee County
Sue Shivers Worthy: Tax Assessor/Tax Collector, Jefferson Davis Co.