Voters Face Important Choices

Congressional seats are at stake in Districts Three and Four in Mississippi.

District Three incumbent Chip Pickering is opposed by Jim Giles and Lamonica Magee.

In Congressional District Four, incumbent Gene Taylor is challenged by Michael Lott and Tracella Kill.

Voters will be electing Supreme Court justices. Which seats depends on where you live.

In the Central District, incumbent Bill Waller, Jr. is opposed by Richard Grindstaff for position one.

Incumbent James Graves is seeking another term, with challenges from Ceola James, Samac Richardson and Bill Skinner.

In the Southern District, Joe Lee is opposing Mike Randolph for position three.

And in the Northern District, incumbent George Carlson is opposed by William Bambach for position three on the state's highest court.

Mississippi also has a state constitutional amendment on the ballot, asking voters if they want to define marriage as only between a man and a woman. Voters are asked to mark yes or no, depending on their preference.

Clarke County, Miss. has a District 5 election commission race to decide. Gloria Campbell and Juanita Hayes are the two candidates on the ballot.

A School Board race in Enterprise, in Clarke County, has four candidates: Lynn Irby, Mary King, Billy Mosley and Deborah Stanley.

In Kemper County, voters in District 5 will cast ballots in an election commission contest between Christopher Cole and Barbara Sanders.

There are also School Board races in Kemper County. In District One, voters will choose between Charles Cross, Sr. and Cynthia "Pumpkin" Little. Another School Board race in District Two is between Abner Love and Jay Lloyd.

Newton County voters have a contested race for District Four election commissioner. That race is between Faye Crosby and John T. Horne.

In Alabama, voters will be casting ballots for United States senator between incumbent Richard Shelby and challenger Wayne Sowell.

West Alabama voters in Congressional District 7 will be choosing between incumbent Artur Davis and Steve Cameron to serve them in the U.S House of Representatives.

Polls are open in both states from 7:00 a.m. To 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday.