GOP Names Committee, Pelosi Rejects Idea

Speaker of the House Dennis Hastert announced Wednesday that Cong. Chip Pickering will serve as a member of the Select Bipartisan Committee to Investigate the Preparation for and Response to Hurricane Katrina.

Hastert said the committee will seek a fair and balanced investigation of the facts.

"We have an opportunity to improve what the government did right and correct what the government did wrong. I appreciate the tremendous resources of the federal government, but I also have seen frustrations with policies and bureaucracies," said Pickering.

The other Republican Select Committee members are: Tom Davis (VA), Chairman; F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (WI); Harold Rogers (KY); Christopher Shays (CT); Henry Bonilla (TX); Steve Buyer (IN); Sue Myrick (NC); Mac Thornberry (TX); Kay Granger (TX) and Bill Shuster (PA).

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi released the following statement Wednesday in response to Speaker Hastert’s selection of Republican Members to serve on the select committee to review the relief response to Hurricane Katrina:

“The Speaker is not listening to the American people; they have unequivocally said they want an independent commission to find out the truth. They do not want a partisan whitewash of what went wrong in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

I will not appoint any Democrats to participate in this sham. Instead, Democrats have proposed an independent commission, based on the rigorous and effective example of the bipartisan 9/11 Commission.

I ask the Republican Leadership to join me in supporting an independent commission to determine what really went wrong in the federal response to Hurricane Katrina. The American people expect and deserve nothing less.”