More Disaster Recovery Centers Open

State and federal officials have opened three new disaster recovery centers in Bay Springs, Collins and Mendenhall to serve individuals and families impacted by Hurricane Katrina.

Disaster victims are urged to register for assistance before visiting a Disaster Recovery Center by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Those who have questions may visit the center to meet with recovery specialists in person.

People who have suffered losses or damages as a result of Hurricane Katrina may go to any Disaster Recovery Center to follow up on their registrations and receive information on available programs.

If a person cannot visit a disaster recovery center, follow-up assistance is still available by calling the toll-free Helpline number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

The new Disaster Recovery Centers are located at:

Jasper County
Livestock Receiving Station
155 County Road 1521
Bay Springs, Miss.

Covington County
Covington Plaza
Old Fred's Store
424 S. Frontage Road
Collins, Miss.

Simpson County
Jimmy Sullivan Center
1827 B Highway 149
Mendenhall, Miss.

Disaster Recovery Centers are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday and are closed Sundays until further notice.