2014 DYW Winner Named

Meridian, Mississippi The results are in for the 2014 Distinguished Young Women competition.

Peryn Reeves-Darby from Hinds County was named winner of the DYW competition at the Temple Theater on Saturday night.

"I'm really excited, really emotional," Reeves-Darby said immediately following her victory. "Just happy. I'm so glad I got to meet all these girls because they're my sisters now and that means so much to me. "

Mia Hall from Meridian was named first alternate. Callie Brown from George County was named second alternate. Mary Margaret Hyer from Lamar County was named third alternate.