Second Override Attempt Fails

By  | 

The Mississippi Senate on Wednesday, on a 29-20 vote, failed to override Gov. Haley Barbour's veto of a bill that would have raised Mississippi's cigarette tax and cut the state grocery tax in half.

"It was a great piece of legislation, and one that will not go away. We will continue to work on it and have the opportunity to vote on it again down the road," said Lt. Gov. Amy Tuck, who supported the changes.

Barbour had called the proposal a "risky tax swap".

An override takes a two-thirds margin, or 33 votes with 49 senators participating. A yes vote was a vote for the override, while a no vote was a vote against it. Voting yes were 22 Democrats and 7 Republicans. Voting no were 5 Democrats and 16 Republicans.
There is one vacancy in the 52-member Senate.


Democrats (22)
Browning, Ecru; Bryan, Amory; Butler, Magnolia; Dawkins, Pass Christian; Dearing, Natchez; Frazier, Jackson; Gollott, Biloxi; Gordon, Okolona; Harden, Jackson; Hyde-Smith, Brookhaven; R. Jackson, Marks; S. Jackson, DeKalb; Jordan, Greenwood; E. Lee, Picayune; Mettetal, Sardis; Posey, Union Church; Thames, Mize; J. Thomas, Yazoo City; Tollison, Oxford; Turner, West Point; Walls, Greenville; Williamson, Philadelphia.

Republicans (7)
Burton, Newton; Carmichael, Meridian; G. Jackson, French Camp; King, Petal; Little, Corinth; Nunnelee, Tupelo; Robertson, Moss Point.


Democrats (5)
Cuevas, Pass Christian; Horhn, Jackson; Simmons, Cleveland; Walley, Leakesville; Wilemon, Belmont.

Republicans (15)
Albritton, Picayune; Chaney, Vicksburg; Clarke, Hollandale; Davis, Hernando; Doxey, Holly Springs; Flowers, Southaven; Hewes, Gulfport; Kirby, Pearl; P. Lee, Mendenhall; Michel, Jackson; Moffatt, Gautier; Morgan, Hattiesburg; Pickering, Soso; Ross, Brandon; White, Terry.


Republican (2)
Brown, Columbus; Huggins, Greenwood.