Disaster Office to Open

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Federal and state civil defense officials will open disaster centers in Brookhaven and Meridian on Monday to help victims of the April 6-14 tornadoes, storms and flooding.

Mississippi Emergency Management Agency officials said the centers are to help storm victims in the 28 counties declared eligible for assistance.

Public assistance is being made available in Clarke, Hinds, Lauderdale, Lincoln, Madison, Newton, Scott, Warren and Yazoo counties. Damage to public facilities in those counties has been estimated at $4.8 million.

Individual assistance is being made available in Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo counties.

The centers will be open to assist victims who have already applied for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency. A third center is scheduled to open soon in Jackson.

Meridian: Central Fire Station, 2500 14th Street

Federal Emergency Management Agency: 1-800-621-3362

Mississippi Employment Security Commission: 1-601-961-7483

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 317066 - wtok.com/a?a=317066
Gray Television, Inc.