Deadlines Approach for Absentee Voting

Saturday, June 21, is the deadline to cast absentee ballots in person for Mississippi's June 24 Democrat and Republican runoffs. Mail-in absentee ballots must be received by circuit clerks no later than Monday, June 23 by 5 p.m.

Circuit clerk offices statewide will be open regular business hours through Friday and from 8 a.m. to 12 noon Saturday.

Reasons by which voters would qualify include being out-of-town for any reason on voting day, working during the polling hours of 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and health reasons that would make getting to the polls difficult.

Lauderdale County Circuit Clerk Donna Jill Johnson points out that if you did not vote June 3, you may still vote on June 24.

Also, if you did vote June 3, you may only vote in that same primary, Democrat or Republican. You cannot cross over to vote in a different primary.

In Lauderdale County, refer to your 'county precinct location' listed first on your voter registration card for the precinct location for this primary.

Call your circuit clerk if you have questions about absentee voting:

Lauderdale County 601 482-9731
Newton County 601 635-3210
Kemper County 601 743-2224
Clarke County 601 776-3397
Neshoba County 601 656-4781
Wayne County 601 735-6227

There are two runoff races in Mississippi.

The Republican runoff is between state Sen. Chris McDaniel and incumbent Sen. Thad Cochran for a U.S. Senate seat.

The Democrat runoff is between Douglas MacArthur Magee and Dennis Quinn for the U.S. House Third Congressional District.