Runoffs Decide Area Races

Incumbent Chris Dew won the runoff for Quitman School Board Place 2.

The Clarke County Circuit Clerk's Office says Dew received 216 votes to 90 for his opponent, Beverly Brown.

It was the only runoff on the Clarke County ballot.

In Jasper County, Chris Sargent defeated James Stone in a runoff in a special election for sheriff. Sargent was sworn in Wednesday morning.

In other Mississippi election news, interim Attala County sheriff, Tim Nail, won a special election runoff for sheriff.

Complete but unofficial returns from Tuesday's election show Nail defeated Martin Roby.

The special election was to fill the unexpired term of William Lee, who died in May. Lee had been sheriff since 2002.

Nail has served as interim sheriff since Lee's death on May 7.