Disaster Service Assistance to Open in Jones County

By  | 

A Disaster Service team from the Federal Emergency Management Agency will be at the Jones County Emergency Operations Center in Laurel, beginning at noon Wednesday. The team will available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, until Oct. 16.

Jones County was recently designated for individual disaster assistance for people who were affected by Hurricane Isaac.

Homeowners and renters may register for federal disaster assistance that may help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster related expenses not met by insurance.

Low interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration may also be available.