Keenum Speaks at EMCC Phi Theta Kappa Induction

2016 Phi Theta Kappa induction at East Mississippi Community College (Photo source: East Mississippi Community College)

Scooba, Miss.

Mississippi State University president, Dr. Mark Keenum, spoke Tuesday night at the induction ceremony for about 50 new Phi Theta Kappa members at East Mississippi Community College’s Scooba campus.

Keenum advised students to arm themselves with the education needed to assume leadership roles and address problems associated with a rapidly changing world.

At the induction ceremony, Anna Dudley, a student officer with the Eta Upsilon chapter of PTK, had a surprise announcement for EMCC president, Dr. Thomas Huebner, Jr., and Dr. Thomas Ware, EMCC vice president for instruction.

“To thank you for all that you do and for making this chapter so successful, we have contacted Phi Theta Kappa headquarters and have officially inducted both of you into the Eta Upsilon chapter as honorary members,” Dudley told the two men, who were given a PTK pin and certificate.

Huebner presented PTK adviser Janet Briggs a pin for 15 years of service to the organization.

EMCC Scooba campus spring PTK Inductees:
Alexica Black, Zachary P. Boone, Allison A. Boyd, Essie D. Brandy, Jr., Laquandra D. Carpenter, Jasmine J. Carter, Anthony C. Cawthorn , Madyson G. Clark, Danielle N. Darmohray, Jaun Davis, Joshua L. Davis, Carlee M. Doty, Alexius Ellis, Adrian D. Glaspie, Tianna L. Germain, Alexandria Gordon, Antonesha K. Gully, August A. Gurry, Kayleigh Hancock, Abby R. Hedgpeth, Brandon D. Henry, Kimmaira C. Jackson, Keishana Johnson, Desmond Lester, Alexander I. Lipscomb, Derrick T. Lyles, Howard W. Maheu, Jalen Martin, Anissia Z. May, Kearies L. Mays, Emily K. McDade, Tyler K. Miller, Montrael Nabors, Raven Necaise, Jeremy Newton, Morgan N. Nicholas, Drake Pace, Tyshon Rogers, Rachel D. Rooney, Jordan A. Self, Madison Settlemires, Rashard K. Shields, Jacorey D. Sparks, Morgan H. Stansell, Ciara N. Steward, Amber D. Summerall, Mallory L. Vance, Kendall Wilkinson, Damion L. Willis, Raleigh Wood, Ashley Woods and Megan Young.

EMCC Golden Triangle campus spring PTK Inductees (ceremony held Mar. 23):
Hayelah Abdullah, Amanda Anderson, Leah Bentley, Sarah Bowen, Carson Branton, Anna Brown, Taylor Campbell, Morgan Castaneda, Marlee Conn, Ashley Crunk, Kenyata Davis, Rylee Douglas, Minnie Duke, Jordan England, Dalton Fields, Leah Fondren, Makenna Gammel, Megan Gammill, Trevor Gibson, Haley Good, Hayle Gregory, Tyson Halfacre, Catherine Hartmann, Mary Parker Haynie, Ryan Jeffries, Timothy D. Jones, Timothy S. Jones, Kathryn King, Adeline Lamfu, Lenon Leachman, Brenda Lobato Ford, Sarah Marlin, Kingdon McGee, Kiondra McNeal, Lauren Mendrop, Dinh Nguyen, Martial Noumbi, Allyson Parker, Hailey Pendergrass, Amy Pennington, Michael Pierce, Clayton Shepherd, Walter Shepherd, Elizabeth Shurlds, Marcy Smith, Savannah Smith, Hayden Steadman, Joseph Stoll, Isaiah Thompson, Lindsey Tubertini, Haley Tyer, Shelby Tyler, Sierra Wallace, Taylor White, Stefani Wilcher, Michaela Williams, Michael Windhorn and William Younger.

2016 Phi Theta Kappa induction at East Mississippi Community College (Photo source: East Mississippi Community College)
2016 Phi Theta Kappa induction at East Mississippi Community College in Scooba (Photo source: East Mississippi Community College)