Lauderdale County is now under a burn ban, as of Monday, because of weeks of dry and windy conditions.
Several wildfires have gotten out of control over the last several days.
According to the Mississippi Forestry Commission, two other counties have issued burn bans already this month.
Pike County, in southwest Mississippi, approved one Feb. 24. Wayne County, issued its ban Feb.17.
Any person who knowingly and willfully violates a burning ban is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined not less than $100 and not more than $500, according to Mississippi law.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.