Some Mississippi Counties Eligible Christmas Storm Aid

By  | 

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency says the U.S. Small Business Administration has approved disaster assistance for residents and businesses in several Mississippi counties affected by severe weather Christmas Day.

A news release from the agency says the federal declaration covers Pearl River, Forrest, Hancock, Harrison, Lamar, Marion and Stone counties.

Loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate.

Homeowners and renters are eligible for loans up to $40,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.

The SBA will open a Disaster Loan Outreach Center at the Old Armory on Highway 11 in Poplarville Tuesday at 8 a.m. to issue applications and assist survivors with completing their applications.