Mississippi Awards More School Security Grants

By  | 

Jackson, Miss. The state Board of Education is awarding school security grants to 24 Mississippi school districts.

The board voted Friday to award $630,000. Lauderdale County School District got the most money, $80,000.
Kemper County received $20,000. Newton County, East Jasper, Quitman, and Newton Municipal schools each received $10,000 grants. Click the link to see how the money was disbursed.

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves spurred lawmakers last year to set aside $5 million for the grants paying $10,000 each toward armed school resource officers.

With $1.57 million awarded earlier, a total of $2.2 million has been disbursed.

Bill Welch, the Department of Education official overseeing grants, says every district that applied received money. He says that if lawmakers would roll over the remainder of last year's appropriation, the state could give another year of grants to current recipients.

Some districts have said they didn't apply because their officers don't fill all the roles required by the grants.

Related Documents