Mississippi's State Burn Ban Lifted

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Barbour acted Wednesday after the heavy rains drenched much of the state Tuesday. More rain was expected Wednesday.

Barbour had declared State of Emergency Oct. 6 banning all outdoor burning because of extremely dry conditions.

Officials of the Mississippi Forestry Commission recommended lifting of the statewide ban.

The Mississippi Forestry Commission says seventeen counties remain under locally-issued burn bans.

Lauderdale County's burn ban has been lifted, due to the area receiving sufficient rainfall.

Bans are in place until further notice in: Carroll, Copiah, Forrest, Holmes, Jones, Lamar, Leake, Madison, Montgomery, Noxubee, Panola, Rankin, Sharkey and Winston counties.

The ban in Choctaw County, Miss., is until Jan. 4, 2011. A band in Smith County expires Thursday. A ban in Yalobusha County expires Friday.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 106617993 - wtok.com/a?a=106617993
Gray Television, Inc.