Municipal Election Day Tuesday

By  | 

Most Mississippi cities are electing mayors to serve the next four years.

Polls are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, and winners take office July 1.

Among those getting new mayors are Clinton, Gulfport and Tupelo, where incumbents didn't run; and Jackson and Vicksburg, where they lost in party primaries.

In Meridian, Republican Mayor Cheri Barry faces Democrat Percy Bland and independents Wally Hudnall and Walter Patton.

In Stonewall, Republican Mayor Jackie McHenry is opposed by Democrat Glenn Cook.

Quitman Mayor Eddie Fulton is facing challenger Chris Reeves. Both are independents.

In Marion, Mayor Elvis Hudson is being challenged by Wayne Rawson. Both candidates are independents.

Democratic Mayor James Young of Philadelphia is facing Republican Roy White in Tuesday's general election.

In Scooba, Mayor Allen Beaty is in a race with Thenesha Hopson.

DeKalb Mayor Homer Hall is facing Tyrone Steele. Both are independents.

In Hickory, two candidates for mayor are on the ballot, Democrat J.C. Wash and independent Sylvia Dawkins.

In Jackson, Democrat Chokwe Lumumba, a city council member, faces independents Cornelius Griggs, Francis Smith, Jr., and Richard C. "Chip" Williams, Jr.

Ocean Springs Mayor Connie Moran, a Democrat, faces Republican John McKay.

Greenwood Mayor Carolyn McAdams, an independent, faces the Democrat she unseated in 2009, Sheriel Perkins.

Southaven Mayor Greg Davis, an independent, faces Republican Darren Musselwhite and Democrat Coria Williams.

There are also city council and board of aldermen races on the ballot. However, some were decided in the primaries. Click below to see local races.