Reeves Makes Charter School Board Appointments

By  | 

Jackson, Miss.

The final three members have been named to Mississippi's new charter school board.

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves said Friday that he's appointing Ridgeland attorney Tommie Cardin, Ocean Springs school Superintendent Bonita Coleman-Potter and Oxford businesswoman Karen Elam.

They join three members appointed earlier this month by Gov. Phil Bryant, Johnny Franklin of Bolton, Chris Wilson of Laurel and Krystal Cormack of Clarksdale.

Interim state Superintendent Lynn House named herself to the board.

All appointees must be confirmed by state senators.

Bryant's appointees would serve four-year terms, while Reeves' appointees would initially serve three and House two to create staggered terms of office.

Mississippi's law expands authority to create charter schools, which are public schools run by private groups that meet certain standards in exchange for less regulation.