Swearing In Ceremony

All five of Lauderdale County's election commissioners who were elected in November were sworn into office Monday.

Wallace Heggie of District 1, Evelyn Acklin of District 2, District 3 commissioner, Awana Simmons, District 4 commissioner, Gloria Dancy, and Jeff Tate of District 5 ran unopposed, but took an oath to uphold their duties.

Tate was chosen to be Election Commission chairman; Heggie will serve as secretary.

Two Lauderdale County School Board slots were also filled through elections in November.

District 3 Pam Lackey Frazier of District 3 and Fredie Carmichael of District 4 had no opposition.
They took their oaths Monday as well.