Voters Decide Runoffs in Alabama

By  | 

Montgomery, Ala. Voters are deciding runoffs for three state offices in Alabama's Republican Primary runoff Tuesday. Nominees for county offices are also on the ballots in both the Democrat and Republican primaries.

Incumbent Terry Dunn of Southside faces former Greene County Commissioner Chip Beeker Jr. for Place 2 on the Public Service Commission. The runoff winner has no Democratic opposition in general election Nov. 4.

State Rep. John Merrill of Tuscaloosa goes against former Montgomery County Probate Reese McKinney for secretary of state. The winner faces Democrat Lula Albert-Kaigler of Mobile in November.

Mobile attorney Jim Zeigler is running against retired Hoover businessman Dale Peterson for state auditor. The winner goes against Democrat Miranda Joseph of Montgomery in November.

The Democratic Party doesn't have any runoffs for offices elected statewide. But there are local offices to be decided.

Sumter County Sheriff Tyrone Clark is in a runoff with former deputy, Thomas Lewis.

Sumter County commissioner races are also on the ballot, pitting Archie Lee Hall, Jr., against Ottice Russelle in Sumter County's District 5, and Pat Ezell and Tom Luke, Sr., in District 6.

There's a Democrat primary runoff for Alabama House of Representatives, District 72, between Ralph A. Howard and Thomas O. Moore.

In Choctaw County, Sheriff Tom Abate is challenged in the Democratic runoff by Scott Lolley.

The District 4 Choctaw County Commissioner's race involves Mack Mosley and Marlon Lucus.

The polls are open Tuesday until 7 p.m.