The state of Alabama has strengthened its 'move over' law, extending it to include wreckers with emergency response vehicles.
Officials with the Alabama Department of Public Safety say it adds a measure of safety when responders are stopped or parked roadside with their emergency lights flashing.
“The roadside is a trooper’s office,” said Col. J. Christopher Murphy, director of the ADPS. “To do our jobs, we must work in close proximity to traffic."
Motorists should move over one lane, and in cases where that's not possible, slow to at least 15 mph below the posted speed limit. Motorists must slow down to 10 mph when the posted limit is 20 mph or less.
A six-month warning and educational period for the new law began Aug. 1. Once the warning period concludes, citations for violation of the “move-over” law will carry a fine of up to $25 for first offense and increasing fines for second and subsequent offenses.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.