Thirteen States Sue Over Health Care Overhaul

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Attorneys general from thirteen states are suing the federal government to stop the massive health care overhaul, claiming it's unconstitutional.

The lawsuit was filed seven minutes after President Barack Obama signed the overhaul bill Tuesday.

It names the U.S. departments of Health and Human Services, Treasury and Labor.

Florida Attorney General Bill McCollum is taking the lead in the lawsuit. Lo

Attorneys general from South Carolina, Nebraska, Texas, Michigan, Utah, Pennsylvania, Alabama, South Dakota, Louisiana, Idaho, Washington and Colorado are joining the suit. They are all Republicans, except for Louisiana's AG, Buddy Caldwell, who is a Democrat. The governors of Michigan, Pennsylvania, Colorado and Washington are Democrats.

Other states may join the lawsuit later or sue separately. The lawsuit was filed in federal court in Pensacola.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 88933352 -
Gray Television, Inc.