Mississippi Voters Go to Polls Tuesday

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Most Mississippi cities are holding party primaries Tuesday, in which nominees for mayor and city council will be decided. In some cases, the primary will decide the winner.

Runoffs, if necessary, are May 19; the general elections are June 2 and the terms begin July 6.

Here are the lists of candidates from cities and towns in east Mississippi:

Randy Rushing

Decatur Board of Aldermen-Ward 1
Max Anderson

Decatur Board of Aldermen-Ward 2
Mark Buntyn
Jimmy Smith

Decatur Board of Aldermen-Ward 3
Eleanor Russell

Decatur Board of Aldermen-Ward 4
Leon Eatmon
Robert S. "Sid" Etie

Decatur Board of Aldermen-Ward 5
Michael A. Anderson
Gus Vallas

Clark Adams
Homer Hall, Jr.
Jimmy White

DeKalb Board of Aldermen-Ward 1
Johnny Rush

DeKalb Board of Aldermen-Ward 2
Mamie Darnell Alexander
James W. Craig
Ashley D. Pilgrim

DeKalb Board of Aldermen-Ward 3
Theotis Cole, Jr.

DeKalb Board of Aldermen-Ward 4
Mary A. Donald

DeKalb Board of Aldermen-Ward 5
Dallas Keith Barnes - incumbent

Larry Murray

Enterprise-Board of Aldermen-Republican
Gerald Covington
Cecil Melton

Enterprise-Board of Aldermen-Democrat
Ben Moore

Enterprise-Board of Aldermen-Independent
Greg Chandler
Peggy Mosley
Hilda Newman

Carolyn Burks
Tommy Nichols

Ted Valentine
Sylvia Dawkins

Hickory-Board of Aldermen-Ward 1-Democrat
Lori Evans
Paul Oglesbee
Billie Robinson

Hickory-Board of Aldermen-Ward 2-Democrat
Sidney Cook
Greg Hudnall

Hickory-Board of Aldermen-Ward 3-Democrat
John Brand
Ken Morgan

Hickory-Board of Aldermen-Ward 4-Democrat
Charles Guyse
Roy White

Hickory-Board of Aldermen-Ward 4-Independent
Katrina Evans

Hickory-Board of Aldermen-Ward 5-Democrat
Donna Ferguson
Johnny Hillhouse
Angus Robinson

Elvis Hudson

Marion Board of Aldermen (at-large 5 to be elected)
Barbara Anthony
Roger Cherry
Lisa Eaves
Don Larson
Bernice Martin
Bobbie Sherrod
Rita Rawson
Tammy Taylor

Percy Bland
William Bond Compton, Jr.
Joe Norwood
Casandra Sloan

Cheri Barry

Meridian City Council-Ward 1-Republican
Dr. George Thomas
Wally Hudnall
Jesse Barnett

Meridian City Council-Ward 2-Democrat
Mary Perry

** Tavio Rand had sought the Ward 2 city council seat as an independent but he was disqualified Apr. 17 by a vote of the Meridian Municipal Election Commission.

Meridian City Council-Ward 3-Democrat
Randle Jennings

Meridian City Council-Ward 3-Republican
Barbara Henson

Meridian City Council-Ward 4-Democrat
Jesse Palmer, Sr.
John Nelson, Jr.

Meridian City Council-Ward 5-Democrat
John Harris

Meridian City Council-Ward 5-Republican
Bobby R. Smith

** Walter Patton had sought the Ward 5 city council seat as an independent but he was disqualified Apr. 17 by a vote of the Meridian Municipal Election Commission.

Michael Pickens
Terry I. Pruitt
David Carr

Robert A Moore, Jr.

Newton Alderman-Ward 1-Democrat
Michael Hillie
Katrina Tingle

Newton Alderman-Ward 2-Democrat
Murray Weems
George Schwaeble
Milo Epting
Arthur C. Nelson, Jr.

Newton Alderman-Ward 3-Democrat
Eric D. McCalphia
Eva L. McDonald

Newton Alderman-Ward 4-Democrat
Ronnie Earl Johnson

Newton Alderman-Ward 5-Democrat
Carolyn Lucas-Moore

Kathy C. Moore
Rayburn Waddell
James A. Young

Leroy Clemons
Janice Payne

Judy Joyner Caverhill

Philadelphia-Alderman-Ward 1-Democrat
Joe Tullos

Philadelphia-Alderman-Ward 2-Democrat
Allen D. Davis
Roy White

Philadelphia-Alderman-Ward 3-Democrat
Randy Gill
Ronnie Jenkins

Philadelphia-Alderman-Ward 4-Democrat
Eric Dale Huddleston
Bobbie S. Jackson
James "Cecil" Nichols
Rudolph Tatum

Philadelphia-Alderman-Ward 3-Independent
Mary D. Griffin

Philadelphia Republican Executive Party Commission
Billy N. Gilley
Kay Hamill
Otha D. Jackson
Willie Jackson
Kyle Jackson
Phyllus V. Robinson
James Waltman

Philadelphia Democratic Executive Party Commission
Fent Deweese
Jackie Sampsell
Ester Wells
Jan Thompson

Eddie Fulton

Quitman-Ward 1-Democrat
Joe Brooks

Quitman-Ward 2-Democrat
Kimberly R. Adams
Betty Foley Thomas

Quitman-Ward 2-Independent
Jimmy G. Ivy, Sr.

Quitman-Ward 3-Independent
Harvey Underwood

Quitman-Ward 4-Independent
James H. Buchanan

Quitman-At-Large Ward
Drew Lavon Wade

Allen Beaty
Stacey Deans

Scooba Board of Aldermen-Ward 1
Maxine Puckett

Scooba Board of Aldermen-Ward 2
Kenneth Sparks

Scooba Board of Aldermen-Ward 3
Jane Marie Williams
Latitia Nave Grant

Scooba Board of Aldermen-Ward 4
Chris Collins

Scooba Board of Aldermen-Ward 5
Bobby Sciple

Clyde Brown
Charles Williams

Shubuta Board of Aldermen (at large-5 to be elected)
Kathy A. Carter
Richard Terrell Carter
Robin Jones
Jeanie "Rann Smith" McDonald
Charles McFarland
Mary Helen McFarland
Lester "Buddy" Puckett

Shubuta Democratic Executive Committee (5 to be elected)
Amy McCarty
Thomas McDonald
Annie J. Powe
Gail Eva Powe
Mary C. Williams

Jackie McHenry
Scotty Allen

Stonewall Board of Aldermen-Republican
Jerry Rich
Jo Dearman
Carol Long Ford
Brad Cook

Stonewall Board of Aldermen-Democrat
Ricky Carpenter
Lucille Rasco
Willie Maude Gilbert
Lee E. Scott
Cleo Howard
Laron Pugh

Jack Nelson, Jr.
Wayne Welch

John C. Knoop

Union-Board of Aldermen-Ward 1-Democrat
Paul Lowery

Union-Board of Aldermen-Ward 2-Democrat
Rex Germany

Union-Board of Aldermen-Ward 3-Democrat
Billy McCune

Union-Board of Aldermen-Ward 4-Democrat
Harvey Hickmon
Robert Ward

Union-Board of Aldermen-Ward 5-Democrat
Rudy Adkins
Stanley Walker

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 44308497 - wtok.com/a?a=44308497
Gray Television, Inc.