Choctaw Voters Go to the Polls

The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians is voting Tuesday for chief and two tribal council seats.

Members will vote for chief among three candidates on the ballot, incumbent Beasley Denson, Phyliss Anderson, and Shirley Berg.

The special election also covers tribal council seats in the Pearl River and Conehatta communities.

The tribal council tossed results from the June 14 regular election, due to questions about whether some votes were legally cast.

The Choctaw Election Commission approved ballots cast after the 8 p.m. deadline June 14, because voters were in line before the deadline.

But the issue went before the Choctaw Tribal Council on appeal. The 8-8 tie vote of the council on conducting new elections was broken by Miko Denson and new elections were scheduled.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129305573 -
Gray Television, Inc.