Official Results from Choctaw Elections

The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians held elections for the position of Tribal Chief, as well as eight Tribal Council seats this week. A total of 3,793 votes were cast.

Incumbent chief, Miko Beasley Denson, and challenger, Phyliss Anderson will be in a run-off election July 5.

This is the official total of votes cast in the chief's race:
Beasley Denson - 1,667
Phyliss J. Anderson – 890
Kevin J. Edwards – 783
Billy G. Chickaway - 304
Clay Wesley, Sr. - 55
Austin Tubby - 52
Louis Ferris, III - 26
Jimmy R. Williams - 11
Joseph Steve - 5

In the Bogue Homa Tribal Council race, incumbent, Berdie Steve, and challenger, Robert Briscoe, were tied with 71 votes. A run-off election for this seat will also be July 5.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 124073659 -
Gray Television, Inc.