The Mississippi House and Senate have approved a bill that would increase the liability insurance coverage requirement for motorists. The measure was sent to Gov. Haley Barbour.
The bill would require motorists to have enough insurance to pay minimal amounts of damage and injuries they cause to others.
The bill would increase from $5,000 to $25,000 the amount of liability insurance coverage required to pay for damages to vehicles and other property in an accident.
It would increase from $10,000 to $25,000 the coverage needed to pay for injury or death of one person, and would increase from $20,000 to $50,000 for injury or death involving two or more people.
Mississippi drivers are required to have liability insurance. Motorists found without proof of insurance can be fined up to $1,000. However, that fine can be reduced to $100 or waived if drivers later show a judge they have the insurance.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.