Teachers of Year Named

By: George McDonald
By: George McDonald

Two local teachers received the Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year Award

Larry Yates of Kate Griffin Junior High School and Abbie Hall of
Northeast Lauderdale Middle School were recognized.

This is National Teachers Day.

Both Northeast and Kate Griffin received a $1,000 educational grant from the company.

The Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year Program has honored over 22,000 teachers since it began nine years ago. Nationwide, $4.3 million in grants was donated to school districts.

In total, the company contributed more than $40 million in support of educational initiatives in 2003.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 745327 - wtok.com/a?a=745327
Gray Television, Inc.