Jackson, Miss. Mississippians will see uniform rules about when hurricane deductibles apply to their homeowners insurance under a law Gov. Phil Bryant signed Monday.
House Bill 756, sponsored by Biloxi Republican Scott DeLano, requires Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney to rule that higher deductibles apply beginning when a hurricane watch or warning is issued somewhere in Mississippi and that they end 24 hours after the last hurricane watch or warning in Mississippi is dropped.
Now, rules vary on when homeowners pay the deductible, often 5 percent of a house's insured value.
In some other states, regulators have blocked hurricane deductibles for storms they judged too weak to qualify.
Lawmakers are still negotiating over House Bill 753, which would require insurers to disclose what they collect in premiums and pay in claims by area.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.