Burn Ban Issued in Lauderdale and Newton Counties

Lauderdale County and Newton County are under a burn ban until further notice.

Other counties under burn bans in the state are: Hinds, Rankin, Simpson and Wayne.

The Mississippi Forestry Commission says any person who knowingly and willfully violates a burning ban is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined not less than $100 and not more than $500, according to state law.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 241666231 - wtok.com/a?a=241666231
Gray Television, Inc.