48 Mississippi Counties Eligible for Federal Aid

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says federal aid has been made available to Mississippi to supplement state and local response efforts in areas affected by Hurricane Isaac.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work in: Amite, Attala, Carroll, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, Wilkinson, and Yazoo counties.

Fourteen additional counties were added Friday, along with the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians. The counties are: Adams, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Kemper, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Warren and Winston.

This brings the total to 48 counties included in the Mississippi disaster declaration.

State, tribal and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations are eligible to be reimbursed on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program, at 75 percent federal funding.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 168165346 - wtok.com/a?a=168165346
Gray Television, Inc.