WWII Veterans to Receive France's Highest Honor

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Five American veterans from across the Southeast are set to receive France's highest honor for their service in World War II.

Consul General of France in Atlanta Philippe Ardanaz plans to award the five veterans the Legion of Honor in a ceremony at his home Aug. 21.

The veterans are: James Robertson of Indianola, Miss.; Robert E. Philipps of Byron, Ga.; George W. McCarthy of Madison, Miss.; Lee Brown of Alpharetta, Ga.; Dave Bullington of Dyersburg, Tenn.; and Ronald Macklin of Winston-Salem, N.C.

The National Order of the Legion of Honor was founded by Napoleon Bonaparte in 1802. Recipients are designated by the French president for eminent service to the French Republic.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 53135557 - wtok.com/a?a=53135557
Gray Television, Inc.