ECCC Announces Homecoming Honorees

East Central Community College in Decatur has announced its homecoming honorees for 2009.

They and other special groups will be recognized at the annual celebration, Saturday, Oct. 3, at the football field.

Mary Rosalyn Rogers Folks (Class of 1964) of Picayune and Jack H. Winstead (Class of 1956) of Lawrence were named Alumna and Alumnus of the Year, respectively, and Donald Acton (Class of 1953) of Knoxville, TN and Wanda Blackwell McPhail (Class of 1971) of Collinsville are slated for induction into the College’s Athletic Hall of Fame, according to Stacey Hollingsworth, executive director for foundation and alumni relations.

Hollingsworth said various alumni groups will also be recognized, including members of basketball teams coached by Joe Clark (1964-1976) and Marty Cooper (1991-1998); and cast members of designated musicals directed by Bruce Peterson (Camelot, 1974; Mame, 1979; Carousel, 1982; and Oklahoma, 1985).

Reunion meetings are scheduled for the Class of 1949 and the combined Classes of 1957, 1958 and 1959, which meet each year. Fiftieth anniversary diplomas will be presented to the 1959 Class by ECCC President Dr. Phil A. Sutphin during a ceremony at 10:30 a.m. in the Vickers Fine Arts Center.

The day’s activities begin with a 5K Run/Walk scheduled at 7:30 a.m. at the North Campus Pavilion.

Registration for homecoming activities begins at 9 a.m. on the East Mall Patio near Mabry Memorial Cafeteria.

Following registration, alumni are encouraged to visit the Memorabilia Room in Burton Library, which will be open from 9 to 11 a.m.

Hollingsworth said a new activity added to homecoming festivities includes tailgating, music and other events scheduled from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on the band practice field.

The annual Warrior Club meeting is set for 11 a.m. in the Board Room, located in the Vincent Administration Building. All supporters of Warrior athletics are encouraged to attend the meeting.

The Alumni Luncheon, during which the honorees receive special recognition, begins at noon in Mabry Memorial Cafeteria.

Honorees will also be recognized at 2 p.m. on the football field, prior to the Warriors’ homecoming battle at 2:30 p.m. with Northeast Mississippi Community College.

For more information contact Stacey Hollingsworth, 601-635-2111 or call toll free, 877-462-3222, ext. 327. Her e-mail address is

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 54541652 -
Gray Television, Inc.