Choctaw Honor Veterans

The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians honored the men and women of the military Saturday during its 2-day annual Veterans Pow-Wow.

One of the weekend events was the 2009 Choctaw Veterans Parade, which featured more than thirty entries.

Grand Marshal was Gloria White, who rode in the parade to honor her late husband, retired U.S. Army Captain Mike O. White. Capt. White had been the Choctaw Veterans Coordinator for a number of years, and he had organized the annual Veterans Parade every year since its establishment.

After the parade, a ceremony was held to honor and celebrate all veterans. Prizes were awarded to winners of the Veterans Poster contest and the Veterans Parade entry contest.

The poster contest was divided into two categories: grades 7-9 and grades 10-12.

Winners in the junior category were: 1st place – Brandi Charlie, 2nd place – Angelina York, 3rd place – Reagan Hickman, and Honorable Mention – Nikkole Isaac. Winners in the senior category were: 1st place – Joe Isaac, 2nd place – Richard King, 3rd place – Dylan Dixon, and Honorable Mention – Kahlon “Jack” Logan. Each of the winners received a cash prize.

The parade entry contest was divided into three categories: Group, Vehicle, and Float.

In the Group category, winners were: 1st place – Venture Crew Troop 61, 2nd place – Standing Pine Social Dancers, and 3rd place – Kabocca Boli Dance Group. Winners in the Vehicle category were: 1st place – Choctaw Public Safety, 2nd place – Philadelphia Biker Boys, and 3rd place – Kari Nickey, Young Little East Central Mississippi. The winners in the Float category were: 1st place – Cultural Preservation Programs, 2nd place – Conehatta Elementary, and 3rd place – Pearl River Elementary.

The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians encourages everyone to take the time to thank veterans or those who are currently serving in the military.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 69616007 -
Gray Television, Inc.