Three Mississippi Teachers Honored

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Jerzy R. Leszczynski, who teaches chemistry at Jackson State University, received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

Teachers Amy Ellis of Sudduth Elementary School in Starkville and Jeanette Simmons of South Pontotoc Elementary School in Pontotoc County received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The ceremony was Obama's second "Educate to Innovate" Campaign event that aims to encourage excellence in science, technology, engineering and math education.

The awards recognize educators from across the country for excellence in mathematics and science teaching and mentoring.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 80803392 -
Gray Television, Inc.