Anderson Awards Nursing Scholarships

Anderson Regional Medical Center has awarded scholarships to seven nursing students.

The future nurses chosen for these awards have completed a year already at Meridian Community College's nursing school. The scholarships pay for the second year.

Applicants are required to write an essay on why they want to be a nurse. Their grades and financial need are also considered.

"It's just so easy for students to fall through the cracks because they don't have funding. They can start and then they find it just too difficult to continue because of funding," said Jan Farrington, representing the Anderson Board of Directors. "So we feel like we're filling a gap there and that we're offering them something so that they can continue and finish and reach the goals that they have aspired to and fulfill their dreams."

Here is the list of Anderson scholarship winners:

Dr. William Jeff Anderson Scholarship
Cynthia Cooper

Dr. William Anderson, Jr. Scholarship
Wendy Brooks

Dr. W. J. Anderson, III Scholarship
Kyschme Watson

Dr. Jeff Hollingsworth Scholarship
Titilah Harmon

Reuben S. Johnson, Jr. Scholarship
Judy Bankston

William Gunn, Esq. Scholarship
Brandi Walters

Anderson Regional Medical Center
Board of Directors
Deborah Rigdon

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 152693725 -
Gray Television, Inc.