Burton, Polk Appointed to Chairmanships

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves Thursday announced new chairmen for two Senate committees. Sen. Terry Burton of Newton has been appointed chairman of the Energy Committee. Sen. John Polk will lead the Universities and Colleges Committee.

"I appreciate the service of these senators as they take on additional duties in these new roles," said Reeves.

the Energy Committee oversees legislation related to the oil and gas industry, public utilities and other energy needs. The committee was created by Reeves in January to emphasize the state’s focus on energy-related economic development.

Sen. Burton replaces Merle Flowers, who resigned July 11 from the Senate District 19 seat.

Polk becomes chairman of the 13-member Universities and Colleges Committee, formerly led by Burton.

Other committee vacancies will be filled after the Nov. 6 election to fill Senate District 19.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166447326 - wtok.com/a?a=166447326
Gray Television, Inc.