Mississippi House Narrowly Passes Workers Comp Bill

The Mississippi House has advanced a bill to make changes that manufacturers and business groups are seeking in the workers compensation system.

Senate Bill 2576 passed the House 59-58 on Thursday. The bill returns to the Senate for more work.

Among other things, the bill says if a worker is injured on the job, the employer could test the worker for drugs and alcohol.

Supporters say the bill would balance a system that now unfairly favors workers.

Opponents say the insurance system for paying for on-the-job injuries is already balanced and the changes would put too many hurdles between injured workers and payment.

The House changed the bill. The Senate can either accept those changes or seek final negotiations with the House.

Voting yes were 58 Republicans and 1 Democrat. Voting no were 2 Republicans and 56 Democrats. One Democrat voted present. Two Republicans and one Democrat did not vote. One Republican was
Republicans voting yes (58)
Alday, Walls; Aldridge, Tupelo; Arnold, Booneville; Barker, Hattiesburg; Barton, Moss Point; Beckett, Bruce; Bell, Fulton; Bennett, Long Beach; Bounds, Philadelphia; Boyd, Mantachie; Chris Brown, Aberdeen; Busby, Pascagoula; Byrd, Petal; Carpenter, Burnsville; Chism, Columbus; Crawford, Pass Christian; Currie, Brookhaven; DeLano, Biloxi; Denny, Jackson; Eure, Biloxi; Formby, Picayune; Frierson, Poplarville; Gipson, Braxton; Guice, Ocean Springs; Gunn, Clinton; Hamilton, Olive Branch; Haney, Gulfport; Hood, Stewart; Horne, Meridian; Howell, Kilmichael; M. Huddleston, Pontotoc; Jennings, Southaven; Ladner, Poplarville; Lott, Sumrall; Martinson, Madison; Massengill, Hickory Flat; Mayo, Oxford; McGee, Brandon; McLeod, Lucedale; Mettetal, Sardis; Mims, McComb; Monsour, Vicksburg; Moore, Brandon; Morgan, Morgantown; Nelson, Southaven; Pigott, Tylertown; Read, Gautier; M. Rogers, New Albany; R. Rogers, Pearl; Rushing, Decatur; Shirley, Quitman; Shows, Ellisville;
Snowden, Meridian, Staples, Laurel; Turner, Baldwyn; Weathersby, Florence; Woods, Byhalia; Zuber, Ocean Springs.
Democrats voting yes (1)
Malone, Carthage.
Republicans voting no (2)
Baker, Brandon; DeBar, Leakesville;
Democrats voting no (56)
Bailey, Greenville; Bain, Corinth; Banks, Jackson; Baria, Bay St. Louis; Barnes, Gulfport; Blackmon, Canton; Broomfield, Moss Point; Cecil Brown, Jackson; K. Buck, Holly Springs; K.C. Buck,
Jackson; Burnett, Tunica; Calhoun, Jackson; Clark, Pickens; Clarke, Jackson; Cockerham, Magnolia; L. Coleman, Mound Bayou; M. Coleman, Jackson; Dickson, Macon; Dixon, Raymond; Eaton, Taylorsville; Ellis, Starkville; Espy, Clarksdale; B. Evans, Monticello; J. Evans, Jackson; M. Evans, Preston; Flaggs, Vicksburg; Gardner, Batesville; Gibbs, West Point; Harrison, Columbus; Hines,
Greenville; Holland, Plantersville; Holloway, Hazlehurst; Horan, Grenada; R. Huddleston, Sumner; Johnson, Natchez; Lamar, Senatobia;
Lane, Waynesboro; Middleton, Port Gibson; Moak, Bogue Chitto; Myers, McComb; Oberhousen, Jackson; Patterson, Biloxi; Perkins, Greenwood; Reynolds, Charleston; Scott, Laurel; F. Smith, Carthage; Straughter, Belzoni; Stringer, Montrose; Sullivan, Okolona; Thomas, Indianola; Warren, Mount Olive; Watson, Hattiesburg; White, West;
Whittington, Schlater; Wooten, Jackson; Young, Meridian.

Democrat voting present (1)
Miles, Forest.
Republicans not voting (2)
J. Smith, Columbus; Upshaw, Diamondhead.
Democrat not voting (1)
Steverson, Ripley.
Republican absent (1)
Taylor, Boyle.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 146363435 - wtok.com/a?a=146363435
Gray Television, Inc.