Mississippi Republicans Declare Victory

The Mississippi Republican Party says it will have majorities in both the House and Senate, as well as the Public Service Commission and Transportation Commission, in 2012.

In a written statement, Arnie Hederman, party chairman, said, “Republicans made history in Mississippi yesterday, electing majorities in the House and Senate for the first time in 140 years. While some races have yet to be called and our majority could still grow by a few seats, the outstanding ballots cannot change the fact that Republicans will hold a majority of seats in the House and will have expanded its majority in the Senate.”

The GOP says, in the House, Republicans Gene Alday, Randy Boyd, Chris Brown, Tommy Taylor, Carolyn Crawford, Doug McLeod, Timmy Ladner, Tracy Arnold, Nolan Mettetal, Steve Massengill, and Dennis DeBar have all received enough votes to ensure that outstanding ballots will not alter their victories.

It also said Republicans Charles Busby also led his race for the Mississippi House, with only affidavit ballots yet to be counted.

The party said, in the Senate, Republicans Phillip Gandy, Melanie Sojourner, Phillip Moran, and Rita Parks have all received enough votes to secure their victories.

Mississippi has not had a Republican majority in the House since Reconstruction.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 133559703 - wtok.com/a?a=133559703
Gray Television, Inc.