President Issues Disaster Declaration

Gov. Haley Barbour says residents and business owners can access federal emergency assistance programs after President Obama issued a federal disaster declaration for five Mississippi counties.

The disaster declaration qualifies the following counties for federal assistance: Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren, and Yazoo.

Preliminary assessments show more than 700 homes were damaged by last weekend's deadly tornadoes.

Ten people were killed in Mississippi and two in Alabama during storms April 24.

A total of 390 homes were destroyed or sustained major damage and 341 had minor damage.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 92508129 -
Gray Television, Inc.