Candidates Filing for Mississippi Primaries

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Two of Mississippi's four congressmen have
filed for re-election: Democrat Bennie Thompson in the 2nd District and Republican Gregg Harper in the 3rd District.

Republicans Alan Nunnelee in the 1st District and Steven Palazzo in the 4th District are expected to file soon.

January 13 is the deadline to enter the March 13 primaries.

Southaven resident Robert Estes has filed for the Republican primary in the 1st District.

Republican Bill Marcy of Vicksburg, formerly of Meridian, who ran in 2010, filed to run in the 2nd District.

Former Greenville mayor, Heather McTeer, plans to challenge Thompson in the Democratic primary. Cobby Mondale Williams of Canton plans to run in the 2nd District as an independent.

Two Hattiesburg residents, Democrat Michael Herrington and Republican Ron Vincent, have filed in the 4th District.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 136668583 -
Gray Television, Inc.