Individual Assistance Available in 4 Mississippi Counties

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Officials say 4,325 people in four Mississippi counties have registered for federal individual assistance in the wake of Hurricane Isaac.

Residents of Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River counties are eligible for temporary housing aid, grants for serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance and low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration.

Emergency food stamp aid will be available for residents in the four counties.

A disaster declaration was initially issued Aug. 29 and included public assistance for 48 counties and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, which experienced damage or losses from Hurricane Isaac. Individual Assistance was added to the disaster declaration on Saturday.

Individuals in Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River counties may begin the application process by calling FEMA at 1-800-321-3362, going online at or via smartphone at

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 168468456 -
Gray Television, Inc.