Mississippi Officials Take Oath of Office

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Mississippi inaugurates seven of its eight statewide elected officials Thursday. Governor-elect Phil Bryant will be sworn in Jan. 10.

The ceremony will involve Tate Reeves as lieutenant governor, Jim Hood as attorney general, Delbert Hosemann as secretary of state, Lynn Fitch as
treasurer, Stacey Pickering as auditor, Cindy Hyde-Smith as agriculture commissioner and Mike Chaney as insurance commissioner.

Hood is starting his third term and is the only Democrat. The others are Republicans. Reeves, Fitch and Hyde-Smith are new to their jobs. Hosemann, Pickering and Chaney are beginning their second terms.

At a prayer celebration Thursday in Jackson, ministers from several faiths called on the officials to show strength and unity in working together and for the people of Mississippi.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 136744238 - wtok.com/a?a=136744238
Gray Television, Inc.