President Declares Emergency for Mississippi

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

President Obama has issued an emergency declaration for areas of Mississippi under threat of rain and high winds from Hurricane Isaac.

The declaration frees up federal resources to help state and local agencies in dealing with the storm and its aftermath. It makes federal support available to save lives, protect public health and safety and preserve property in coastal areas.

The declaration affects 29 counties in central south Mississippi.

Those counties are Amite, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, Wilkinson and Yazoo.

The president declared a state of emergency in Louisiana late Monday.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency says the 2-1-1 hotline is open to provide general information to Mississippians affected by Hurricane Isaac.

The phone line, operated by the United Way, offers information on assistance, shelters, transportation, volunteering and other storm-related information.

Evacuees and residents from Louisiana should call 866-472-8265 for Mississippi information.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 167720295 -
Gray Television, Inc.