Senate Votes to Merge Three School Districts

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

The Mississippi Senate has voted to merge the three school districts in Sunflower County into a single district. Senate Bill 2330 moves to the House for further consideration.

It would require a new school board and an appointed superintendent.

Senate Education Committee chairman, Gray Tollison, said Wednesday the consolidation would save local taxpayers $1.2 million a year in
administrative costs.

Sunflower County is in the heart of the Delta, one of the poorest parts of the state. Its three school districts -- Sunflower County, Indianola and Drew -- are all under state conservatorship for a variety of reasons.

Mississippi has 82 counties and 152 school districts.
Consolidation has been discussed for years, but there has been little political will to force mergers in areas where high-performing districts are near lower-performing ones.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 138943219 -
Gray Television, Inc.