Mississippi House Speaker Names Chairmen

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Mississippi House Speaker Philip Gunn has
named chairs for committees, allowing the House to move ahead with business

With the GOP takeover of the House, Republicans were named to head all of the House's major committees.

Unlike four years ago, though, when Democratic Speaker Billy McCoy froze out GOP members from
chairmanships after they failed to depose him, Gunn, a Republican, did name some Democrats to committee chairmanships.

New leaders for major committees include:
--Appropriations, Herb Frierson, R-Poplarville
--Judiciary A, Rep. Mark Baker, R-Brandon
--Judiciary B, Andy Gipson, R-Braxton
--Education, John Moore, R-Brandon
--Ways and Means, Jeff Smith, R-Columbus

The Mississippi Legislature is 18 days into a 120-day session. The Rules and Management committees had been organized earlier.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 137767838 - wtok.com/a?a=137767838
Gray Television, Inc.