Summary of Other Statewide Races

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Republicans Lynn Fitch and Lee Yancey are in a runoff for the party nomination for state treasurer.

Fitch, of Madison and state Personnel Board director, lead the
three-candidate field in Tuesday night's returns. Yancey is a state
senator from Brandon. The third candidate in the race was Jackson attorney Lucien Smith.

Ocean Springs Mayor Connie Moran was unopposed for the
Democratic nomination for treasurer.

The runoff is Aug. 23. The general election is Nov. 8.

State Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith of Brookhaven won the Republican nomination for agriculture commissioner Tuesday, defeating two opponents in the party primary.

Hyde-Smith, 52, is chairwoman of the Senate Agriculture
Committee and was making her first statewide race. She defeated retired agriculture educator Max Phillips of
Taylorsville and state Rep. Dannie Reed of Ackerman.

Hyde-Smith will face Democrat Joel Gill of Pickens in the Nov. 8
general election.

One faction of the Reform Party wants to put a candidate for agriculture commissioner on general election ballot.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 126647548 -
Gray Television, Inc.