SWAC Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2007

The Southwestern Athletic Conference 2007 Hall of Fame class includes three inductees from Mississippi.

Eddie Payton (Jackson State), Leslie Frazier (Alcorn State) and Archie Cooley (Mississippi Valley State) join Johnny Thomas (Southern), Robert Moreland (Texas Southern) and Vanette Johnson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff) in this year's class.

Payton, who played football at Jackson State and in the NFL, has been named SWAC coach of the year 18 times and national minority coach of the year eight times as the JSU golf coach. The men's team has won 18 consecutive SWAC titles and 13 of the last 18 national minority championships. The women have won nine SWAC championships under Payton.

Frazier played baseball, basketball and football at Alcorn before graduating in 1981. He led the 1985 Super Bowl champion Chicago Bears with six interceptions, won a Super Bowl with the Indianapolis Colts as an assistant coach last year and is currently the defensive coordinator for the Minnesota Vikings.

Cooley was the football coach at MVSU from 1980-86 and athletic director and head coach of Arkansas-Pine Bluff from 1987-1991. He was the offensive coordinator for Texas Southern from 1995-99 and is currently the head coach at Paul Quinn College.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11321151 - wtok.com/a?a=11321151
Gray Television, Inc.