SEC Announces Post-Season Football Awards

Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, LSU defensive lineman Glenn Dorsey and Arkansas' return specialist Felix Jones were voted as the Southeastern Conference's top offensive player, top defensive player and top special teams player, respectively, in a vote of the league's coaches, it was announced on Wednesday.

The league's coaches also selected Kentucky tight end Jacob Tamme and Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno as the league's scholar-athlete of the year and top freshman performer.

Alabama offensive tackle Andre Smith and Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs were selected as the recipients of the Jacobs Trophy, given to the league's top blocker. Mississippi State's Sylvester Croom was voted by his peers as the SEC Coach of the Year.

All of this year's individual award winners were named first-team All-SEC by the league's coaches in voting that was announced on Tuesday.

McFadden, a junior from Little Rock, Ark., rushed for 1,725 yards in 12 games this season - more than he did in 14 games in 2006. Last year's Heisman Trophy runner-up, McFadden is third on the SEC's career rushing list at 4,485 yards. McFadden also became only the second SEC player in history to rush for 1,000 yards as a freshman, sophomore and junior. A Maxwell Award finalist, McFadden is also attempting to become the second player in history to win two Doak Walker Awards. He led the SEC in rushing in 2007 with 143.8 yards per game.

Dorsey, who was named the Nagurski Trophy winner on Monday night as the nation's top defensive player, led LSU's four first-team defensive players on this season's All-SEC team. Dorsey, a senior from Gonzales, La., collected 64 tackles during the season, including six sacks and 11.5 tackles for a loss.

Jones was the only league player to earn multiple spots on the All-SEC squads. Jones earned a position on the first-team listing as a return specialist. The Tulsa, Okla., native led the SEC and ranked third in the nation in kickoff returns with a 31.3 yards-per-attempt average. Jones also garnered recognition from league coaches on the second team as a running back. This season, Jones turned in his second-consecutive 1,000-yard rushing season earning 1,117 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Moreno, a native of Belford, N.J., has rushed for 1,273 yards for an average of 106.1 yards per game and 12 touchdowns. He is the 12th Bulldog in school history to rush for more than 1,000 yards, including six 100-yard games. Moreno's 1,273 yards rank seventh all-time in a single season at Georgia and stands fourth all-time among SEC freshman in a season. He has received several national honors this season. He also caught 53 passes for 584 yards and five touchdowns.

Tamme is the first tight end in Kentucky history to be named first-team All-SEC for two seasons. Tamme (Danville, Ky.) completed his bachelor's degree in Integrated Strategic Communications with a 3.82 GPA. He is now in his second year of study for his Master's in Business Administration and has a 3.83 graduate school GPA. He already has been named first-team Academic All-America by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Luigs helped clear the way for a league-leading rushing attack and the nation's third-leading rushing offense with the Hogs averaging 296.8 yards per game. He has been named first-team All-American and is a Rimington Trophy finalist. Smith has started all 25 games in his UA career and had one rushing touchdown (2-yard lateral) against Oklahoma State in the 2006 PetroSun Independence Bowl. Smith is on the 2007 Outland Trophy Watch List.

Croom, in his fourth year at the helm of the MSU football program, led the Bulldogs to a 7-5 record in 2007. Under his direction, State earned a berth in the Autozone Liberty Bowl, its first postseason appearance since 2000, and the team's four-win improvement was the best in the league this season.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 12168366 -
Gray Television, Inc.