Louisville wins Class 3A State Championship

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Dennis Thames was the ultimate two-way threat, scoring three touchdowns today to lead Louisville to its first state title in 12 years with a 21-7 victory over defending Class 3A champion Franklin County.

Louisville (12-3) captured its first Class 3A crown after winning five Class 4A championships. The last came in 1995.

The Franklin County offense outgained Louisville 220-161, but turnovers were the difference.

Thames returned two first-half interceptions for touchdowns.

He picked off Jamie Collins and covered 67 yards to put Louisville up 7-0 in the first quarter, then took another Collins pass 31 yards in the second quarter to give the Wildcats a 14-0 lead at halftime.

Thames later caught an 11-yard touchdown pass from Clayton Moore in the third quarter to put Louisville up 21-0.

The only score for Franklin County (12-3) came on a 1-yard run from Collins with 1:22 left in the third quarter.

Collins finished 4 of 11 passing for 32 yards and rushed for 75 yards.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 12282546 - wtok.com/a?a=12282546
Gray Television, Inc.