McCool Wins At Whynot

Bub McCool of Vicksburg, MS fought his way from sixth on the starting grid to win his second MSCCS feature win of the season Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park. Early race leader Scott Slay of Jackson, MS looked to be the man to beat until an engine fire sent him to the pits.

David Breazeale of Four Corners, MS inherited the lead from Slay. But on the restart found himself in a fierce three wide battle with David Ashley of Zachary, Louisiana and Jason Cliburn of Star, MS. Ashley would take the lead after a long heated battle with Breazeale and Cliburn. McCool worked his way to the front taking the lead over Ashley near the midway point. McCool never looked back after gaining the lead ending a long drought at the Action Track of the South.

"We've been Chasing a win here for a long time" McCool said. "We're happy to finally get one" Ashley held off Cliburn at the finish to claim second while Cliburn took third.

MSCCS point leader "The Intimigator" Chris Wall had a tough night having to come from the rear after an early race caution. Wall came from the rear of the field and finished sixth. Jim McDuffie of Meridian was the fast qualifier of the evening with a 13.483

In other racing action Talbert Goldman picked up his first win of the season in the NeSmith Chevrolet weekly Crate Late Model racing series. Goldman took the lead running the high side midway though the race over last weeks winner Lucky Keeton and cruised to the win. Keeton finished second with Larry Murphy third. Ben Stephens won the Open Wheel Modified feature with Kyle Rutledge second and Tim Rutledge third.

David James won the Street Stock feature over second place Kyle Rutledge and third place Cameron Parker.

Bill Bunyard won the Mini Stock feature with Artis Bunyard second and Jennifer Shelton third

Michael Wilkinson won the Stinger feature over second place Logan Hembree and April Allen

And John Mercer and Jay Mercer won the two man cruiser feature.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 17958004 -
Gray Television, Inc.