Conn/Bittle Up for Top Pitching Award

Two pitchers from Mississippi are among the five finalists for the national Stopper of the Year Award, the National College Baseball Writers Association announced today.

Tyler Conn of Southern Miss and Scott Bittle of Ole Miss join Joshua Fields of Georgia, A.J. Griffin of San Diego and Eric Pettis of UC Irvine on the list.

Conn leads Division I pitchers with 18 saves, a Conference USA record.

Bittle, who won the Cellular South Ferriss Trophy as Mississippi’s top collegiate player, leads Division I pitchers in strikeouts per nine innings (16.02). His 118 strikeouts in 63· innings ranks fourth overall.

The winner will be announced on June 4.

Bittle and Conn will both get a chance to add to their totals this weekend when Ole Miss and USM begin play in the NCAA Tournament.

Ole Miss plays Missouri Friday at 11 a.m. at the Coral Gables Regional, while USM plays New Orleans at 6 p.m. Friday in the Baton Rouge Regional.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19332369 -
Gray Television, Inc.